The Sideshow Audience

Well this blog post is a couple of days late, but better late than never :).  I went to see the filming of The Sideshow (ABC, Saturday nights) on Thursday night and it was a lot of fun.  I actually wish I had gone before, and was surprised how easy it was to get tickets – I thought it would be hard but all I did was send an email and 2 tickets were mine!  Considering how much entertainment value you get (for free!) I’m surprised not more people do it.  I had been planning to go see a filming of Good News Week (years ago) and then The Glasshouse but both shows were axed before I got organised enough to go (not that I wasn’t given ample opportunity).  Luckily I made it just in time as The Sideshow too has been axed with 1 show left. 😦

You get to see a lot of behind the scenes stuff and Paul McDermott and the band certainly made it entertaining for us between filming segments.  Then when it’s over we were told by Paul in no uncertain terms to (f*** off :).  You get practically a front row view to the acts, and they often come into the audience to watch the show with you (I saw members of Tripod standing in the crowd at times).  You’d normally be lucky if you got front row tickets at a Tripod show (yes, I am a big Tripod fan).

If anyone wants to go see the filming of the final show (filming 29th November) let me know!  Note that you very possibly may end up on TV (either a good thing or a bad thing) – I spotted myself very clearly in one of the audience shots when I watched it last night.

Leave a Reply

