Into The Wild – Movie

A couple of weeks ago I entered a competition in the JJJ email newsletter for preview tickets to the new movie “Into The Wild”, but then promptly forgot about it.  On Monday when I got my mail there were the tickets, for the preview showing last night.  I went along and it was a really beautiful and moving movie – I definitely recommend it.  It’s quite long at 2 1/2 hours, but the subject matter is facinating and very well told (it’s essentially about removing all burdens, going into the wild, and becoming self reliant).  Based upon the true story of Christopher McCandless, it takes us from the time he was an unwilling part of society, to disappearing suddenly to leave everything behind, through to his death from starvation in the Alaskan wilderness.  The great thing about the theme is I think it resonates with a lot of people, where they can relate in wishing in some way to be less burdened by material possessions and/or debt (which society these days is built upon) and instead take each day as it comes – providing a sense of freedom.  I don’t necessarily agree with how he went about doing this, but you have to say it took guts to do what he did.

The acting was great all round, it was well shot, it’s funny at surprising times, and has a fantastic soundtrack (by Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam fame, who plays every instrument himself apparently).

The only negative is that there are a lot of flashbacks, where I think that it might possibly have had more impact if the story was told in a more sequential fashion.  However, more than a day later the movie is still in the back of my mind which is definitely an indicator of how powerful a movie I found it.

One thought on “Into The Wild – Movie

  1. Saw this recently too.

    I was drawn to it as a huge eddie vedder fan so the music was enough for me to want to watch it.

    Like you, I cery much enjoyed it too.

    One of the few movies that i’ve enjoyed from recent memory.

Leave a Reply

